Versailles native John Conlee to release new album

Fans of one of Country Music’s most distinctive song stylists have new reason to exclaim with delight as veteran performer John Conlee returns to the radio with the emotional single “Walkin’ Behind The Star,” released on his own RCR (Rose Colored Records) label.

The song was written by Nashville industry veterans Ronnie Scaife and Phil Thomas, who collaborated on the Johnny Paycheck hits “Colorado Cool Aid” and “Me and the IRS” together. The touching lyrics were inspired by Phil’s grandfather and great-grandfather, both of whom served in their local sheriff’s department. The song had yet to be cut until recent events made the song a little timelier, and the song was pitched to the Grand Ole Opry star, who was touched by the song’s honesty.

“Recent deadly attacks against the people who keep us safe is unprecedented in America and I wanted to sing this song in honor of their sacrifice and willingness to serve,” says Conlee.


“Walkin’ Behind The Star,“ can be found on his upcoming releaseClassics 2, which will feature some new material along with many of Conlee’s latter classics. The set features Conlee hits such as “Harmony,” “Mama’s Rockin’ Chair” and “Hit The Ground Runnin,” which are being issued on CD for the first time since their releases on Columbia and 16th Avenue Records.


Conlee recently celebrated the 36th anniversary of his breakthrough hit “Rose Colored Glasses,” and can be found on the road throughout 2015 as well as the stage of the Grand Ole Opry, where he has been a member since 1981.



1.   Domestic Life

2.   Stuff That Works

3.   Walkin’ Behind The Star

4.   Hit The Ground Runnin’

5.   A Lot Of Things Different

6.   Mama’s Rockin’ Chair

7.   Love In The Real World

8.   Pocket Full Of Crosses

9.   Harmony

10. The In Crowd

11. Bread And Water

12. Sure


For an updated schedule, go to