Sturgill Simpson and Loretta Lynn receive multiple Grammy nominations

Kentucky native, Sturgill Simpson. Photo via Sturgill Simpson Facebook.

Kentucky natives, Loretta Lynn and Sturgill Simpson have been recognized with the list of nominees for the 2017 Grammy Music Awards.  Most notably, Sturgill Simpson is the only country artist in the overall Album of the Year category for his album “A Sailor’s Guide to Earth.”  That album is also up for Best Country Album, alongside Loretta Lynn’s “Full Circle.”   Virgie, Kentucky, native, Josh Osborne is up for Best Country Song as one of the songwriters of Miranda Lambert’s song, “Vice.”

Sturgill Simpson is also a part of the Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1 with his song “Sugar Daddy,” which was also the theme song of the television show.  “A Sailor’s Guide to Earth” was produced by Sturgill Simpson. Geoff Allan, David Ferguson & Sean Sullivan were engineers/mixers, while Gavin Lurssen was mastering engineer.  

Below is a list of the country music related nominees for the 59th Anuual Grammy Awards.  The show will air live on CBS on Sunday, February 12, 2017.

Overall Album of the Year
Adele, 25
Beyonce, Lemonade
Purpose, Justin Bieber, Purpose
Drake, Views
Sturgill Simpson, A Sailor’s Guide to Earth
Best New Artist
Kelsea Ballerini
The Chainsmokers
Chance the Rapper
Maren Morris
Anderson .Paak
Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album
Andrea Bocelli, Cinema
Bob Dylan, Fallen Angels
Josh Groban, Stages Live
Willie Nelson, Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin
Barbra Streisand, Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway
Best Country Album
Brandy Clark, Big Day in a Small Town
Loretta Lynn, Full Circle
Maren Morris, Hero
Sturgill Simpson, A Sailor’s Guide to Earth
Keith Urban, Ripcord
Best Country Song (Awarded to Songwriters)
Keith Urban, “Blue Ain’t Your Color” (Clint Lagerberg, Hillary Lindsey & Steven Lee Olsen)
Thomas Rhett, “Die a Happy Man” (Sean Douglas, Thomas Rhett & Joe Spargur)
Tim McGraw, “Humble and Kind” (Lori McKenna)
Maren Morris, “My Church” (busbee, Maren Morris)
Miranda Lambert, “Vice” (Miranda Lambert, Shane McAnally & Josh Osborne)
Best Country Solo Performance
Brandy Clark, “Love Can Go to Hell”
Miranda Lambert, “Vice”
Marin Morris, “My Church”
Carrie Underwood, “Church Bells”
Keith Urban, “Blue Ain’t Your Color”
Best Country Duo / Group Performance
Dierks Bentley With Elle King, “Different for Girls”
Brothers Osborne, “21 Summer”
Kenny Chesney With Pink, “Setting the World on Fire”
Pentatonix With Dolly Parton, “Jolene”
Chris Young With Cassadee Pope, “Think of You”
Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song
Lauren Daigle, “Trust in You”
For King & Country, “Priceless”
Natalie Grant, “King of the World”
Hillary Scott & The Scott Family, “Thy Will”
Zach Williams, “Chain Breaker”
Best Contemporary Christian Music Album
All Sons & Daughters, Poets & Saints
Crowder, American Prodigal
Natalie Grant, Be One
Hillsong Young & Free, Youth Revival
Hillary Scott & The Scott Family, Love Remains
Best Roots Gospel Album
Gaither Vocal Band, Better Together
The Isaacs, Nature’s Symphony In 432
Joey+Rory, Hymns
Gordon Mote, Hymns And Songs Of Inspiration
Various Artists, God Don’t Never Change: The Songs Of Blind Willie Johnson
Best Americana Album
The Avett Brothers, True Sadness
William Bell, This Is Where I Live
Kris Kristofferson, The Cedar Creek Sessions
Lori McKenna, The Bird & the Rifle
The Time Jumpers, Kid Sister
Best American Roots Song (Awarded to Songwriters)
Robbie Fulks,”Alabama at Night” (Robbie Fulks)
Jack White, “City Lights” (Jack White)
Roddie Romero and the Hub City All-Stars,”Gulfstream” (Eric Adcock and Roddie Romero)
The Time Jumpers,”Kid Sister,” (Vince Gill)
Lori McKenna,”Wreck You” (Lori McKenna and Felix McTeigue)
Best American Roots Performance
The Avett Brothers, “Ain’t No Man”
Blind Boys of Alabama, “Mother’s Children Have a Hard Tim”
Rhiannon Giddens, “Factory Girl”
Sarah Jarosz, “House of Mercy”
Lori McKenna, “Wreck You”
Best Bluegrass Album
Blue Highway, Oirginal Traditional
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Burden Bearer
Laurie Lewis & The Right Hands, The Hazel and Alice Sessions
Claire Lynch, North by South
O’Connor Band With Mark O’Connor, Coming Home
Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media
Various Artists, Amy
Miles Davis & Various Artists, Miles Ahead
Various Artists, Straight Outta Compton
Various Artists, Suicide Squad
Various Artists, Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1
Best Recording Package
Anti, Ciarra Pardo & Robyn Fenty, art directors (Rihanna)
Blackstar, Jonathan Barnbrook, art director (David Bowie)
Human Performance, Andrew Savage, art director (Parquet Courts)
Sunset Motel, Sarah Dodds & Shauna Dodds, art directors (Reckless Kelly)
22, A Million, Eric Timothy Carlson, art director (Bon Iver)
Best Music Film
I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead, Steve Aokie
The Beatles: Eight Days A Week The Touring Years, The Beatles
Lemonade, Beyoncé
The Music Of Strangers, Yo-Yo Ma & The Silk Road Ensemble
American Saturday Night: Live From The Grand Ole Opry, Various Artists