Chris Stapleton takes lead over 2016 CMA Award nominations


Kentucky native Chris Stapleton was surprised this morning with multiple CMA Award nominations, including Entertainer of the Year, Single of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Video of the Year, and Musical Event of the Year. “The 50th Annual CMA Awards” aired live Wednesday, November 2 on ABC-TV. Country superstars Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood presided over the evening, returning as hosts for the ninth consecutive year.
Below are the list of nominees in each category:
Entertainer of the Year: Garth Brooks, Luke Bryan, Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban
Single of the Year:
Die a Happy Man – Thomas Rhett
Humble & Kind – Tim McGraw
My Church – Maren Morris
Nobody to Blame – Chris Stapleton
Record Year – Eric Church
Album of the Year
Black – Dierks Bentley
Hero – Maren Morris
Mr. Misunderstood – Eric Church
Ripcord – Keith Urban
Storyteller – Carrie Underwood
Song of the Year
Burning House – Camaron “Cam” Ochs, Tyler Johnson, Jeff Bhasker
Die a Happy Man – Sean Douglas, Thomas Rhett, Joe Spargur
Humble and Kind – Lori McKenna
Record Year – Eric Church and Jeff Hyde
My Church – busbee and Maren Morris
Female Vocalist of the Year: Kelsea Ballerini, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Kacey Musgraves, Carrie Underwood
Male Vocalist of the Year: Dierks Bentley, Eric Church, Tim McGraw, Chris Stapleton, Keith Urban
Vocal Group of the Year: Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Old Dominion, Rascal Flatts, Zac Brown Band
Vocal Duo of the Year: Brothers Osborne, Dan + Shay, Florida Georgia Line, Joey + Rory, Maddie & Tae
Musical Event of the Year
Different For Girls – Dierks Bentley feat. Elle King
Home Alone Tonight – Luke Bryan featuring Karen Fairchild
The Fighter – Keith Urban (featuring Carrie Underwood)
Think Of You – Chris Young (duet with Cassadee Pope)
You Are My Sunshine – Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton
Musician of the Year: Jerry Douglas, Paul Franklin, Dann Huff, Brent Mason, Derek Wells
Music Video of the Year
Burning House – Cam
Fire Away – Chris Stapleton
Humble and Kind – Tim McGraw
Record Year – Eric Church
Somewhere on a Beach – Dierks Bentley
New Artist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini, Brothers Osborne, Maren Morris, Old Dominion, Cole Swindell