Loretta Lynn releases new song in advance of latest album

Loretta Lynn’s “Wouldn’t It Be Great” album is set for release on September 28, 2018.

Loretta Lynn fans will be happy to know that she has provided information on her new album that will be released September 28, 2018. Earlier this week, Loretta posted on her official Facebook page about the new album, “Wouldn’t It Be Great,” which is also the first single off of the album.

According to her Facebook page, Loretta Lynn notes, “Before my stroke last year I had been working hard on a new album and was so excited about it. This new record means so much to me, but this last year I had to focus on my health and decided to hold up the release. It’s been a tough year, but I’m feelin’ good now and look forward to it comin’ out. It was really important to me to be a part of it being released and I’m excited to celebrate it with all y’all. I hope you love it and I hope you’ll help me tell everybody about it!”

“Wouldn’t It Be Great?” is the last song Loretta wrote for her late husband (Oliver “Doolittle” Lynn). “Well,” Loretta observes, “my husband liked to drink a lot and that’s where that song comes from… ‘Say you love me just one time, with a sober mind’…I always liked that song but I never liked to sing it around Doo.” “That song just always meant so much to me,” continues their daughter (and album co-producer) Patsy Lynn Russell, “because of the lyrics, you know, ‘when my fancy lace couldn’t turn your face,’ it was just so powerful and was a song that needed to be recorded for this album with Loretta. It shows just how masterful my mom is with writing down her feelings.”

The album was recorded at the Cash Cabin Studio with John Carter Cash and Patsy Lynn Russell producing. The album reveals new songs, “Ruby’s Stool,” “Ain’t No Time To Go,” and “I’m Dying for Someone to Live For.” She also recorded new renditions of “Coal Miner’s Daughter,” “Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’ (With Lovin’ on Your Mind,” as well as “God Makes No Mistakes.”

Wouldn’t It Be Great is available for pre-order now in digital, CD and 12″ vinyl formats: Exclusive Wouldn’t It Be Great album packages including limited edition, autographed, numbered photo prints and Loretta Lynn merchandise are also available (while supplies last):

Loretta Lynn – Wouldn’t It Be Great Track Listing
Wouldn’t It Be Great? (written by Loretta Lynn)
Ruby’s Stool (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
I’m Dying for Someone to Live For (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
Another Bridge to Burn (written by Loretta Lynn, Lola Jean Dillon)
Ain’t No Time to Go (written by Loretta Lynn, Patsy Lynn Russell)
God Makes No Mistakes (written by Loretta Lynn)
These Ole Blues (written by Loretta Lynn, Patsy Lynn Russell)
My Angel Mother (written by Loretta Lynn)
Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’ (written by Loretta Lynn, Peggy Sue Wells)
The Big Man (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
Lulie Vars (Traditional, arrangement by Loretta Lynn)
Darkest Day (written by Loretta Lynn)
Coal Miner’s Daughter (written by Loretta Lynn)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.